Editorial Team

Founding Editors

Catherine Tackley is Lecturer in Music at the Open University, and was previously Head of the Centre for Jazz Studies at Leeds College of Music. Her book 'The Evolution of Jazz in Britain, 1880-1935' was published by Ashgate in 2005. She was Edison Fellow at the British Library National Sound Archive in 2006-7, and is now working on a major study of performances of Gershwin. In addition to co-editing the Jazz Research Journal, Catherine is a member of the editorial board of Studies in Musical Theatre. She is a conductor in classical and popular styles, and runs her own big band.

Tony Whyton is a Professor in the Faculty of Arts, Design and Media at Birmingham City University.


Dr Nicolas Pillai is a research fellow specialising in jazz and visual culture. His first monograph, Jazz as Visual Language: Film, Television and the Dissonant Image (I. B. Tauris, 2016), rethinks the technological and institutional processes that mediate jazz onscreen. He has been a frequent guest speaker at the National Jazz Archive, has curated a season of screenings at the Vortex Jazz Club and was the keynote speaker at the 2013 Jazz & Cinema conference. He has contributed chapters to Gender and Identity in Jazz (Jazzinstitut Darmstadt, 2016) and The Routledge Companion to New Jazz Studies (Routledge, 2017), as well as articles in journals such as The Soundtrack and Movie: A Journal of Film Criticism. He has also written an essay for the booklet included in the BFI dual format Blu-ray/DVD release of Paris Blues (film 1961; release 2016). Pillai is the co-editor of New Jazz Conceptions: History, Theory, Practice (Routledge, 2017; with Dr Roger Fagge) and the special issue ‘Brilliant Corners: Approaches to Jazz & Comics’ (The Comics Grid: A Journal of Comics Scholarship 2016; with Dr Ernesto Priego).

Sarah Raine is a Research Fellow at Edinburgh Napier University and Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Irish World Academy of Music and Dance, at the University of Limerick.

Extended Play Editor

Review Editor

Editorial Board

  • David Borgo, University of California, San Diego, United States
  • Andy Fry, King's College London, United Kingdom
  • Krin Gabbard, State University of New York, Stony Brook, United States
  • Bruce Johnson, University of Turku, Finland and Macquarie University, Australia
  • Peter Martin, University of Manchester (Retired), United Kingdom
  • Alyn Shipton, Royal Academy of Music, London, United Kingdom
  • Tim Wall, UCE Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • Robert Walser, University of California, Los Angeles, United States