https://journal.equinoxpub.com/JMA/issue/feed Journal of Mediterranean Archaeology 2022-09-07T22:45:35+00:00 A. Bernard Knapp, John Cherry, Peter van Dommelen, Catherine Kearns and Sarah Murray bernard.knapp@glasgow.ac.uk Open Journal Systems <p><em>Journal of Mediterranean Archaeology</em> is the only journal currently published that deals with the entire multicultural world of Mediterranean archaeology. The journal publishes material that deals with, amongst others, the social, politicoeconomic and ideological aspects of local or regional production and development, and of social interaction and change in the Mediterranean. <a href="https://journal.equinoxpub.com/JMA/about">Read more.</a></p> https://journal.equinoxpub.com/JMA/article/view/23766 Editorial 2022-08-12T08:16:28+00:00 A Bernard Knapp bernard.knapp@glasgow.ac.uk John F Cherry john_cherry@brown.edu Peter van Dommelen peter_van_dommelen@brown.edu 2022-09-07T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Equinox Publishing Ltd. https://journal.equinoxpub.com/JMA/article/view/23771 Mediterranean Bioarchaeology, Meta-Analysis and Migration 2022-08-12T08:43:01+00:00 Megan A Perry perrym@ecu.edu Kristina Killgrove killgrove@unc.edu Lesley A Gregoricka lgregoricka@southalabama.edu Tracy L Prowse prowset@mcmaster.ca <p>.</p> 2022-09-07T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Equinox Publishing Ltd. https://journal.equinoxpub.com/JMA/article/view/23767 The Archaeology of Pastoralism in the Central Pyrenees 2022-08-12T08:23:01+00:00 David Garcia Casas david.garcia-casas@incipit.csic.es Ermengol Gassiot Ballbè Ermengol.gassiot@uab.cat <p>This study investigates changes in human occupation and pastoralism in a zone of the central Pyrenees (Spain) from their first occurrences to the present day, based on an analysis of archaeological structures recorded at sites in the study area. Huts, enclosures, rock-shelters and other architectural remains were analysed and compared in order to develop a typological classification, and morphological similarities and differences between sites in terms of size and number of structures were also noted. The study proposes a sociohistorical interpretation of the differences in the archaeological record within a long-term chronological framework, in this way building a historical sequence of livestock practices and human occupation in the Pyrenees.</p> 2022-09-07T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Equinox Publishing Ltd. https://journal.equinoxpub.com/JMA/article/view/23768 Potters at the World’s End? Pottery Production and Resilience in Formentera (Balearic Islands, Spain) during the Bronze Age 2022-08-12T08:28:41+00:00 Daniel J Albero Santacreu d.albero@uib.es Manuel Calvo Trias manuel.calvo@uib.es <p>Human communities that inhabit small islands often express some kind of fragility and ‘islandness’ that requires the development of certain strategies to minimize the risks involved in occupying hazardous environments. In this paper, we interpret the technological choices developed by Bronze Age potters’ communities from the small island of Formentera (Balearic Islands, Spain) by studying certain features of pottery pastes and some typological aspects of the vessels. Our aim is to explore the way certain technological choices played a key role in the construction of group social memory, the strengthening of community cohesion and the establishment of bonds with other groups from the same island and from other nearby and larger islands of the archipelago. The technological practices observed in pottery production allowed a greater capacity for resilience in the human communities from Formentera, which in turn permitted the stable and long-term occupation of the territory.</p> 2022-09-07T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Equinox Publishing Ltd. https://journal.equinoxpub.com/JMA/article/view/23769 A Nilometer from Graeco-Roman Thmouis 2022-08-12T08:33:00+00:00 Jay E Silverstein jay.e.silverstein@cranfield.ac.uk Robert J Littman littman@hawaii.edu Stacey Anne Bagdi stacey_bagdi21@hotmail.co.uk Elsayed F Eltalhawy altalhawy@yahoo.com Hamdy Ahmed Mashaly hamedymashaly@gmail.com Emad Hassan Mohamed emad.hassan22@yahoo.com Mohamed Gabr mgabr@equinoxpub.com <p>In 2010, a construction project for a new water pumping station on the west side of Tell Timai (Egyptian Delta) encountered a limestone structure. This discovery triggered a salvage excavation that exposed a rare example of a well-preserved Delta nilometer. The architectural features of the nilometer reveal some specific and even unique adaptations consonant with the hydrological situation of the Graeco-Roman city of Thmouis. Unlike other examples of nilometers, an aqueduct runs from the north, spilling into the stairwell leading down into the stilling well. A dam stone in the aqueduct appears to have regulated the release of water. The nilometer was also articulated with an adjacent hill by a staircase. Folk tradition memorialised the stair and nilometer location in local fertility and healing rituals performed during Nile flood-related festivals; this tradition preserved the sacred space long after the nilometer and its associated architecture were buried and forgotten. The multifaceted role of the Thmouis nilometer in the cultural and economic life of the city and nome carries wider implications for the political organisation of the nome and the dynamic between syncretic forces and imperial appropriation in Graeco-Roman Egypt. Here we review the shape, function, archaeological context, ideological significance and hydrography of the nilometer and consider the implications of the nilometer for the history of the Mendesian nome and its sacred relationship with the Nile River.</p> 2022-09-07T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Equinox Publishing Ltd. https://journal.equinoxpub.com/JMA/article/view/23770 The Words that Archaeologists Choose 2022-08-12T08:38:38+00:00 Allison Burkette allison.burkette@uky.edu Robin Skeates robin.skeates@durham.ac.uk <p>Writing is the means by which archaeological knowledge is produced, shared and negotiated, which is why, as part of a wider reflexive archaeology, writing within the discipline has come under scrutiny. When writing, archaeologists make choices about what words to use to express their ideas about the past (even if these choices are sometimes subconscious). This study examines such choices via the application of methods from two linguistic subdisciplines, corpus linguistics and discourse analysis, to a case study of Maltese archaeological texts and terms for a specific yet problematic type of Maltese artifact (axe-amulets/pendants). Using these methods, we connect political and theoretical shifts to changes in English-language use and terminology across three periods of Maltese archaeological history, demonstrating how authors choose words that reflect the broader assumptions and understandings that inform their work. In sum, this paper contributes to an increasingly critically aware understanding of the history of colonial and postcolonial archaeology in Malta and other Mediterranean islands and encourages writers to have a heightened awareness of the taken-for-granted but fundamental part that language plays in their poetics and politics.</p> 2022-09-07T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Equinox Publishing Ltd. https://journal.equinoxpub.com/JMA/article/view/23772 Issues in Meta-Analysis of Strontium Isotope Data 2022-08-12T08:45:25+00:00 Thomas P Leppard tleppard@fsu.edu Carmen Esposito espositoc@cardiff.ac.uk Massimiliano Esposito esposito.mass@gmail.com <p>.</p> 2022-09-07T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Equinox Publishing Ltd.